"I don't like it, it's creepy."
"Huh? Why not? He's so cute."
"It keeps staring at me!"
"Calm your tits Sharon, I just brought him so of course it will stare. Getting used to his new surroundings."
"Yeah, whatever, just make sure you keep it in your room and away from me."
"Yes ma'am."
Alexis picked up the tank and trotted to her room with that fat ugly frog still staring at me almost as if it's attempting to tell me something. A shiver ran up my spine, but I quickly shook it off going back to my room.
~+~
The following morning I awakened to the aroma of coffee, Alexis is up. I know because every morning, from the time she's rooming with me she will always be up first and make coffee. Sitting up I rub at my eyes, in my temporary blurriness, I notice a green figure on the end of my bed. I stopped dead; it was facing at me just as it made out yesterday with those black pupils. That's when it croaked, startling me; fully waking me up.
"Alexis!"
I heard padded footsteps run towards my door, "What!?" She almost shouted once opening my door, I pointed to the frog. "Care to explain why your fucking pet is in my room and on my bed at that when I specifically said to keep it in your room and out of mines."
She looked at the frog and shrugged her shoulders. "Honestly Sharon I have no idea how James came in here." James? She done named the damn thing I looked at her confused face and shook my head. "Just take the frog out of here before I throw you and it out," I said half-jokingly. Alexis laughed, picking the frog up, "Sorry James, Sharon can be a big meanie sometimes. Well, most of the time." I took my pillow and threw it at her head, laughing at her shocked face.
"Come on, you had to at least expect that, but that's what you get for talking about me."
"Ha ha funny, I'm going to finish eating my breakfast with James."
"And you better make sure it stays where it belongs, in your room" I shouted to her retreating back.
~+~
Alexis left for school leaving me alone in the apartment. Looking at the cable box, the clock reads 8:30, shit I'm late. Once finished with my breakfast, I quickly walking out my bedroom to the kitchen to wash my plate. The toilet was next; I always have to make sure I use it before leaving. On my way there I have to pass Alexis room, and as soon as I did that damn frog started croaking again.
"Oh for the love of- would you shut the hell up!"
I shouted once I was finished with the bathroom. I went back to my room, grabbing my jacket and purse, closing the door behind me. Walking to the front door, I notice the frog stopped its noise, thank goodness. Just then a thought came to me, what if it actually shuts up because I told it so. Rolling my eyes, I shook my head, leaving the apartment.
~+~
It's time for me to finally go home now, work was long and boring; I went to the back room to grab my belongings and left, saying bye to my coworkers on my way out. While walking to the train station I tried to figure out what I want to eat for dinner. Looking across the street, I see Wendy's, well better than nothing because I do not feel like cooking tonight.
~+~
Getting to the apartment I was greeted by darkness and silence. Alexis should have been home by now, putting the Wendy's bag on the island counter I shrug off my jacket taking it into my room and hung it up in my closet. Walking back to the kitchen, I sat down ready to eat my food when the house phone starts ringing. Great, reaching over I pick it up from the receiver pressing talk.
"Hello?"
"Sharon! My god, why didn't you pick up your damn phone."
"Alexis I did, I'm talking to you right," I giggled placing a fry in my mouth.
"You know what I mean girl, your cell."
"It's in my bag I forgot to take it out."
"Stupid, but listen I'm not coming home tonight I'm going out with Rae, then I'm staying the night at his place."
"Girl don't you have school tomorrow?"
"Yes, but it won't hurt to miss one day" I shook my head; this girl is so crazy I don't how I put up with her sometimes.
"Okay, Alexis you're grown just be careful and tell Raeshawn I said hi"
"Will do love, bye!"
"Later"
Pressing the end button, I place the phone on the receiver, putting my attention back on my food. Picking up my burger and biting into it, I realize that it's a little cold for my taste, so I get up putting the food into the microwave.
The microwave beeped, signaling that it's done; I took the food out and headed to my room deciding that I want to watch TV while I eat. Once settled down I flip through the movie channels and The Princess and the Frog so happens to be on.
~+~
I was in bed now everything off, clean and full. Sleep was overcoming me until I heard Alexis frog start its shit again. Thinking I can just ignore it, I roll over bringing the covers over my head. Then, of course, the croaking seemed to get louder; I angrily throw the covers off and stormed into Alexis room. Turning on her light, I see that the frog is outside of its tank sitting on the windowsill. Getting closer to the frog it turns toward me.
"What is wrong with you frog?"
It suddenly jumps, landing on Alexis dresser which I was standing by. Lord this thing is ugly; I gazed at it for a few minutes before that movie I was watching earlier popped up in my mind. Wait, what the hell am I thinking I began to turn around and the frog croaked, but this time it sounded as if it wanted something. Like it was asking me for help. Looking at the frog again, I sighed, closing my eyes, I swiftly placed a kiss in between the frog eyes. Opening them the frog blinked and croaked again, groaning, I left the room, closing the door and went back to my bed.
"What the hell was I thinking?"
~+~
I felt an arm slide around my waist, not fully awake I turn over. When I heard snoring my eyes flew open. Screaming I tried getting out the bed, but my legs got tangled in the sheets causing me to topple over on the floor. After fighting to get up, I caught a full view of who was in my bed and there right here in my fucking bed was an Asian guy. What the hell! He was still sleeping even after all my commotion. Anger started rising, I got on the bed raising my hand bringing it down across his face, hard enough to wake him. His eyes snapped open abruptly sitting up almost throwing me off the bed. He stared at me like I was crazy, when I should be the one giving him that look.
"Yah! What the hell was that for!?"
His accent was thick, however, I didn't care at this moment. I was far too pissed.
"What was that for? Are you nuts, or something how the hell did you get in here!?"
"You brought me here."
What the hell is this guy babbling about? I brought him here?
"Look man, if you don't get the fuck out my place I am calling the cops. Simple as that"
"What don't you remember last night when you kissed me?"
I stood there scanning my brain, and then it hit me. I ran into the hallway checking the bolts on the door the locks were still in place. Then ran to Alexis's room, the frog wasn't there. Not in the tank, under the bed, in the closet, it couldn't have jumped out the window because it's closed. It was nowhere to be seen.
"You see fairy tales are real."
I heard the guy voice from behind, I turn to him. Damn, he's tall, like really tall. Well, compared to me, and I'm 5'6, he's maybe around 6'2. I look upwards into his eyes and under those long bangs of his something in those big dark-brown irises tells me that he may be telling the truth.
"Holy shit, you can't be serious?"


